MEAA Member Central is your first point of contact for any  inquiry you may have as a MEAA member or as a creative professional looking to join MEAA.

We have trained information officers ready to answer any inquiries you may have about your employment conditions, membership status or to be put into contact with your local union representative.

MEAA Member Central: 1300 65 65 13 or email:

Paul MurphyChief Executive
Paul took over as Chief Executive of MEAA in April 2015, after three years as the national director of its journalist section. Prior to working at MEAA Paul spent 16 years as a press secretary or chief-of-staff to various Ministers in the NSW Government.

Download a high resolution image

Erin Madeley – Director, Operations
Erin joined MEAA in 2007 and was the lead organiser for the ECS section before taking maternity leave in late-2016. She returned to active work as the director of the section in July 2017.

Susan Clarkson – Director, Finance
Susan Clarkson is a FCPA with over 20 years in experience in senior financial roles; she joined MEAA in 2012 and is responsible for the overall financial performance of the union in line with the relevant legislation and regulation. Susan started her career in merchant banking and over the last 15 years has worked predominately in NGOs. She holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Accounting) from Western Sydney University.

Matthew ChesherDirector, Legal and Policy
Matthew joined MEAA in 2012 as the organisation’s National Industrial Officer. He has filled the position of Director, Legal and Policy, since October 2015. Prior to joining MEAA, Matthew occupied various positions in trade unions and was a senior staffer in NSW Governments from 1998 to 2011.

Kelly Wood – Director, Entertainment, Crew and Sport
Kelly was appointed Director of Entertainment, Crew and Sport in 2019. She started work as a union organiser in 2002 after being an active workplace delegate, and has been working for MEAA since 2006. She has worked with crew, technicians and creatives in the ECS section since 2013, including on negotiations for a template agreement with the major Hollywood studios, MEAA’s campaign on rates in the local screen industry, and policy campaigns on import rules, local content, and tax incentives.

Andrew Crowley – Director, Equity
Andrew was appointed Director of Equity in December 2019 following a year and half as Deputy Director during which time he was intimately involved in Equity’s key campaigns and negotiations. Andrew has been a proud member of Equity since 2000 and has worked as a performer in theatre, television, commercials and regional and schools tours. Beyond his performance work, Andrew completed a law degree and worked extensively in commercial practice and as a MEAA industrial officer before joining the Equity team.

Neill Jones Director, Media
Prior to joining MEAA in August 2019, Neill worked in a diverse range of roles in the public and private sectors. He has worked as political staffer to senior state and federal Ministers. Neill started his career in urban policy and planning, holds a Masters in Public Health and retains an interest across a range of public policy issues.

Katelin McInerney – Director, Education and Campaigns
Katelin graduated from the University of Wollongong in 2004 with a Bachelor of Arts (Honours). An internship at the Illawarra Mercury turned into a full-time appointment, as education reporter, and she also covered news, features and community during her time with the paper. Katelin won a national award for her writing on education for the Mercury. Katelin joined MEAA as an organiser in 2009, become the national lead organiser in 2012, and stepped up as director in 2015. She is passionate about protecting the rights of creative professionals.

Tanya de Almeida – Director, Industrial
Tanya practised as a generalist and employment lawyer in Adelaide before joining the MEAA in 2015 as a national industrial officer.

Mark Phillips – Director, Communications
Mark Phillips has worked as a journalist and a communications professional for 25 years. As a journalist, he was employed by Fairfax Media, News Corp and AAP, including several years in the Federal Parliamentary Press Gallery. Prior to joining MEAA in 2015, he spent seven years at the ACTU, including as communications director.

Matthew Burton – Member Central Consultant
Georgina GoddardMember Central Consultant
Sam Alexander-Prideaux – Member Central Consultant
Claire Lancaster
Member Central Consultant
Greg Cummins
Member Central Consultant

Tanya de Almeida – Director, Industrial
Annette Widitz – Industrial Officer
Paul Yiallouros Industrial Officer
Cian Galea Industrial Officer
Miles Hunt – Industrial Officer
Mardi O’Connor – Industrial Officer
Hannah Pelka-Caven – Industrial Officer
Nina Qiu
Industrial Officer
Marea WilsonIndustrial Officer

Mark Phillips – Communications Director
Lizzie Franks – Communications Manager (MEAA Equity section)
Mike Dobbie – Communications Manager (MEAA Media [journalist members’] section)
Phill Lappin – Digital Communications Officer

Peter Ross – Director, Technology
Dalin OuchTechnical Support

Jennifer O’Brien – Executive Officer
Jack Walton – Administration Officer
Maria Sorbello – Mail Clerk

Susan Clarkson – Director, Finance
Sophie Wang – Financial Accountant
Lulu Wang – Financial Accountant
Jeanette Balane – Financial Accountant
Martine Shqau – Payroll Officer
Frisco Carmona – Residuals Manager
Amelia JimenezResiduals Officer

Andrew Crowley – Director
Jay Radford National Imports Officer
Nicholas Hope – Organiser

Mary Cotter – Director
Alex Jones – Program Manager
Lizzie Franks – Communications Manager 
Helen KimStoryville Program Administrator

Kelly Wood – Director, ECS
Gerard Brown – Organiser
Ida Ioannou-Marsh – Organiser

Neill Jones – Director, Media 
Tyron Butson Organiser

Paul Davies – Director, Musicians
Max Gale – Organiser

Katelin McInerney – Director, Education and Campaigns
Cassie DerrickDirector, Organising
Elaine CrombieFirst Nations, First Peoples Organiser
Aaron TakizadNational Co-ordinator of Digital Campaigning and Innovation

Michelle Rae – Director, QLD
Nikau Irvine – Organiser (Equity)

Angelique Ivanica – SA Branch Secretary
Aaron Connor – Organiser (Equity/ECS)

Adam Portelli – Director, Victoria and Tasmania
Ed Gorwell Organiser (ECS)
David HaidonOrganiser (ECS)
Tim BenfattoOrganiser (ECS)
Mardi O’Connor – Organiser (Media)
George Bath– Organiser (Media)
Sarah McKenzie – Organiser (Equity)
Jenna Schroder – Organiser (Equity)

Tiffany Venning – Director, WA
Andrew MarkeyOrganiser (Equity/ECS)

The screen industry is ready to get back to work and contribute to the economic recovery. But government policies are holding us back.