State Media Awards

MEAA and the Walkley Foundation administer a series of hotly-contested state media awards each year.


The awards calendar for 2020 is:

TASMANIAN MEDIA AWARDS

• Entries open Thursday, February 6, 2020
Due to COVID-19, the entry deadline has been extended. Entries will now close at midnight, Thursday March 26
• Broadcast/published between January 1, 2019 and December 31, 2019
• Entry fee: MEAA members: Free
• Entry fee: Non-members:$85
• Presentation on Friday May 15,  via Zoom

SA MEDIA AWARDS

• Entries open Monday February 24, 2020
Due to the ongoing disruption of COVID-19 and its impact on journalists and media, the deadline to enter the SA Media Awards has been extended. South Australian journalists now have until the final deadline of midnight on Thursday, April 30, 2020 to submit entries via the online entry site.
• Entries must have been broadcast/published between January 1, 2019 and December 31, 2019
• Finalists announced Thursday May 28
• Presentation on Friday June 12 via an online event

CLARION AWARDS — QUEENSLAND

• Entries open Monday June 1, 2020
• Entries close at midnight Monday July 20, 2020
• Broadcast/published between July 1, 2019 and June 30, 2020
• Finalists announced TBA
• Presentation TBA

WEST AUSTRALIAN MEDIA AWARDS

• Entries open Monday, June 22, 2020
New closing date: Midnight Monday August 17. Due to the disruption caused by COVID-19, the entry deadline has been extended. There will be no further extensions.
• Entries must have been broadcast/published between July 1, 2019 and June 30, 2020
• Finalists announced Monday, September 7 2020
• Entry fee: Free for MEAA members
• Entry Fee: Non-members $150

NORTHERN TERRITORY MEDIA AWARDS

• Entries open Wednesday, July 1, 2020
• Entries close Friday, August 14, 2020
• Broadcast/ published between July 1, 2019 and June 30, 2020
• Finalists announced Thursday October 1 2020
• Entry Fee: Darwin Press Club and MEAA members $25
• Entry Fee: Non-members $35
• Presentation on Saturday, November 14 Venue TBC

For all inquiries, contact:
MEAA State Media Awards
c/o The Walkley Foundation
245 Chalmers Street
Redfern NSW
2016
Phone: 0425 202 651 or (02) 9158 3822
Email: MEAAstateawards@walkleys.com or submit your query using the form below.