State Media Awards

MEAA and the Walkley Foundation administer a series of hotly-contested state media awards each year.


Every year, MEAA hosts awards for excellence in journalism in Tasmania, South Australia, Western Australia, Queensland and the Northern Territory. These awards are recognised as the pinnacle of journalism in each state or territory, and include the prestigious journalist of the year award.

The awards calendar for 2024 is:

TASMANIAN MEDIA AWARDS

• Entries open Monday, February 12, 2024
• Entries close 11.59pm, Sunday, March 17, 2024
• Open to work broadcast/published between January 1, 2023 and December 31, 2023
• Entry fee: MEAA members free; non-members $85

SA MEDIA AWARDS
• Entries open Monday, March 4, 2024
• Entries close 11.59pm, Sunday, April 7, 2024
• Open to work broadcast/published between January 1, 2023 and December 31, 2023
• Entry fee: MEAA members free; non-members $75

WA MEDIA AWARDS

• Entries open Monday, April 15, 2024
• Entries close 11.59pm, Wednesday, July 3, 2024
• Open to work broadcast/published between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024
• Entry fee: Free for financial MEAA members; non-members $150

NT MEDIA AWARDS

• Entries open Monday, April 22, 2024
• Entries close 11.59pm, Sunday, July 14, 2024
• Open to work broadcast/ published between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024
• Entry Fee: MEAA members free and Darwin Press Club members $25; non-members $35

QUEENSLAND CLARION MEDIA AWARDS

• Entries open Monday June 3, 2024
• Entries Close 11.59pm, Sunday, August 24, 2024
• Open to work broadcast/published between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024
• Entry fee: MEAA members free; non-members $230

For all inquiries, contact:
MEAA State Media Awards
c/o The Walkley Foundation
245 Chalmers Street
Redfern NSW
2016

Email: MEAAstateawards@walkleys.com or submit your query using the form below.