Saturday, May 13th, 2017 #MEAAMedia News
MEAA Online

MEAA congratulates the winners of the 2017 Tasmanian Media Awards which showcase the best journalism in the state. 

ABC veteran broadcaster Chris Wisbey was named the 2017 Keith Welsh Award winner for outstanding contribution to Tasmanian journalism at the Tasmanian Media Awards. Wisbey has been on-air for the best part of three decades and was the unanimous choice of judges to the first Keith Welsh award winner since 2010.

“Chris Wisbey wins the 2017 Keith Welsh Award for his telling of Tasmanian stories. How he has dealt with sensitive issues with an engaging story-telling style… He has built an archive of people and places in Tasmania, telling uniquely Tasmanian stories about Tasmanians,” the judges said.

• Richard Baines from the ABC won the Journalist of the Year and Best News Stories awards.
• Sally Glaetzer from The Mercury/Tas Weekend Magazine won the Best Feature, Documentary or Current Affairs and Comment and Analysis categories and was a finalist in the Science, Environment and Health and Journalist of the Year awards.
• WIN Television’s Brent Costelloe won his third straight award for Best Sports Coverage.

The complete list of winners is available here.