Diversity Committee

  • Bali Padda Chair
  • ;
  • Kate Hood Deputy chair
  • ;
  • Courtney Stewart Secretary
  • ;
  • Joy Hopwood NSW/ACT
  • ;
  • Lara Lightfoot NSW/ACT
  • ;
  • Ra Chapman Vic/Tas
  • ;
  • Viviene Glance WA
  • ;

Equity’s Diversity Committee works with industry stakeholders to help create an inclusive industry and develop a more realistic representation on Australia’s screens and stages 

The committee was established to recommend policies, advocate support structures and broadly address issues of diversity. The committee considers diverse casting to include the casting of culturally and linguistically diverse performers, women performers and performers with disability in roles where race, ethnicity, sexual preference, gender or the presence or absence of a disability is not relevant. For further information or to get involved, contact Nicholas Kyriacou.

Join the conversation on Facebook

The National Diversity Committee consists of:

Bali Padda (chair)
Bali’s screen acting credits include Top of the Lake: China Girl, UNindian, Legally Brown, and theatre credits include Babies Proms: Bollywood Baby (CDP Producers & Sydney Opera House), The Lunch Hour (Darlinghurst Theatre & Siren Theatre Co.), Singled Out (Reginald Season, Seymour Centre), as well as various Opera Australia productions. As an independent theatre producer, Bali focuses on showcasing diverse artists and has produced In the Space Between, Hats Off! 2014 & 2015, Equity75: A Toast to Equity, Lighten Up, and Sunderella. Bali is a proud member of Equity since 2009, and is firmly committed to ensuring that our Australian stories are a true representation of contemporary Australia, in all its diversity.

Kate Hood (deputy chair)
Kate Hood is a writer director and actor who has performed in classics, musicals, audio books, and starred in Prisoner. Fifteen years ago she became a wheelchair user and reinvented herself as a disabled writer, director and theatre maker. She formed Raspberry Ripple Productions to dissolve the divide between Mainstream performing arts and Disability performing arts.

Courtney Stewart (secretary)
Courtney Stewart is a Director, Actor, Dancer, Singer and Teaching Artist, who currently appears in Jay’s Jungle for Ambience Entertainment and Channel 7, and has worked for the City of Sydney, Sydney Theatre Company, Queensland Theatre, Laboite and Barking Gecko. She will work with Paige Rattray as an Assistant Director for STC’s production of Australian Graffiti later this year. Courtney is a proud and active member of MEAA and the Equity Diversity Committee.

Joy Hopwood (NSW/ACT)

Lara Lightfoot (NSW/ACT)

Viviene Glance (WA)

Ra Chapman (Vic/Tas)