





Winners announced in the 2016 Northern Territory Media Awards

The Media, Entertainment & Arts Alliance (MEAA), the union and industry advocate for Australia's journalists, is delighted to announce the winners of the 2016 Northern Territory Media Awards – the pre-eminent Territory-based awards promoting journalistic excellence across print, broadcast and digital media platforms.

The annual awards – which are supported by MEAA, the Walkley Foundation and the Darwin Press Club – celebrate quality journalism and reward media professionals whose commitment and excellent media coverage best informs and entertains the Territory.

This year's awards were presented on Saturday evening at SkyCity in Darwin before the Chief Minister of the Northern Territory and the Lord Mayor of Darwin with almost 300 people attending the event – an indication that the NT Media Awards is a key event for the media industry.

Darwin Press Club president Neda Vanovac said: "NT journalists, photographers and camera operators have continued to produce an incredibly high standard of work, breaking big national and international stories. The Darwin Press Club is thrilled to see them recognised, proving how much talent there is in the top end and central Australia, unearthing and telling crucial stories that might otherwise go untold."

The 2016 Northern Territory Journalist of the Year is James Oaten from the ABC, who also won the categories of Best News Coverage and Best Current Affairs or Feature for TV/Radio for his internationally newsbreaking stories of Australians travelling to Syria to fight and die for ISIS. Judges praised him for demonstrated tenacity in identifying and pursuing a story, maintaining a dedication to truth and accuracy, independent thinking, fairness, impartiality and humanity.

In a year when the after-effects of the Don Dale youth justice scandal continue to echo, it has been particularly gratifying to see the work of ABC reporter Kate Wild recognised in two major categories: the Pete Davies Memorial Campaigning Journalism Award and the Excellence in Indigenous Reporting Award for the ground-breaking local reports she filed over a long period of time, which formed a basis for Four Corners' expose which triggered a royal commission. Her work truly generated palpable change which has resonated around the country.

The ABC's Jane Bardon was recognised with two prizes for her work, particularly her ongoing reports on environmental issues affecting remote Aboriginal communities, such as the MacArthur River Mine near Borroloola, and congratulated for her ability to form long-lasting contacts in remote places.

Christopher Walsh from the *NT News* won the Best Scoop and the Excellence in Northern Reporting categories for his dogged ongoing political reporting investigating corruption and dodgy dealings at the highest levels of government. The judges noted his strong track record for breaking stories that matter to Territorians.

The ABC's Avani Dias is the 2016 Marchbanks Young Journalist of the Year, recognised for her consistently excellent reporting. The judges praised her for her deep understanding of NT issues, and her persistence and determination as a reporter.

MEAA and the Darwin Press Club congratulate all the winners who, through their work, continue to prove the depth and breadth of talent in the NT.

For more information on the awards go to the web site: https://www.meaa.org/nt-media-awards/

For more information, contact Anna Magnus 0423 363 725

Northern Territory Media Awards Winners 2016

Print/ Text Best News Coverage

Sponsored by Media Super

 Helen Davidson, Guardian Australia, The Northern Territory's ongoing crisis in juvenile detention

Print/ Text Best Feature Writing

Sponsored by Charles Darwin University

• Matt Garrick, NT News, Out of the Darkness

Television/ Radio Best News Coverage

Sponsored by Michels Warren Munday

 James Oaten, ABC, Shock and anger: Fallout from youth detention abuse exposed on 4Corners

Television/ Radio Best Broadcast Interview

Sponsored by Media Super

• Katie Woolf, Territory Broadcasters, A collection of interviews

Television/ Radio Best Current Affairs or Feature

Sponsored by City of Darwin

James Oaten, ABC, Australians dying in Syria - how can it be stopped?

Photography of the Year

Sponsored by Inpex

• Elise Derwin, NT News, Body of Work

Best News Camerawork of the Year

Sponsored by Media Super

Mitchell Woolnough, ABC, Body of Work

All Media Best Online Coverage

Sponsored by NT Chamber of Commerce

Jane Bardon, ABC, ABC News and Current Affairs Darwin

All Media Best Scoop/ Newsbreaker

Sponsored by Telstra

Christopher Walsh, NT News, Shares Scandal

All Media Best Environment / Innovation Reporting

Sponsored by Engineers Australia

Jane Bardon, ABC, Nowhere to hide

All Media Best Sports Journalism

Sponsored by Bird in Hand

• Elliana Lawford, ABC, Series Subject

All Media Magazine of the Year

Sponsored by NT Cattlemen's Association

Territory Q Business Magazine

Gold Award: Excellence in Indigenous Reporting

Sponsored by The Australian Government

Kate Wild, ABC, Voices from the Margins

Gold Award: Excellence in Northern Reporting

Sponsored by Northern Australian Development Office

Christopher Walsh, NT News, Sex, Lies and Videotape: Covering NT Politics

Gold Award: The Pete Davies Memorial Campaigning Journalism Award

Sponsored by Mix 104.9

Kate Wild, ABC, NT Juvenile Justice System

Gold Award: Marchbanks Young Journalist of the Year 2016

Sponsored by The National Critical Care and Trauma Response Centre

 Avani Dias, ABC, Wave Hill 50th anniversary: Thousands join walk-off re-enactment to mark land rights protest

Gold Award: Northern Territory Journalist of the Year 2016

Sponsored by the NT Government

James Oaten, ABC