Media, Entertainment and Arts Alliance

ELECTION NOTICE - E2023/5

Scheduled Election

Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009

Nominations are called for:

Federal Offices

- Federal President (1)
- Federal President (Equity) (1)
- Federal President (Media) (1)
- Federal President (ECS) (1)
- Federal President (Musicians) (1)
- Federal Vice President (Media) (2)
- Federal Vice President (Equity) (2)
- Federal Vice President (ECS) (2)
- Federal Vice President (Musicians) (1)

[where two Vice-Presidents are elected from each section or group of sections, at least one shall be a woman, unless the President from the relevant section is a woman]

Board members elected by and from the branches as follows:

- Board Member (NSW Branch) (1)
- Board Member (VIC Branch) (1)
- Board Member (QLD Branch) (1)
- Board Member (WA, SA, TAS, ACT Branches) (1)

Delegates to Federal Council

- Delegate to Federal Council (Media Section) (20) [at least seven to be women and come from at least four States]
- Delegate to Federal Council (Equity Section) (15)
 [at least five to be women and come from at least four States]
- Delegate to Federal Council (ECS Section) (11) [at least four to be women and come from at least three States]
- Delegate to Federal Council (Musician Section) (3) [at least one to be a woman and come from at least two states)

National Stunt Committee from the Equity Section members graded as Stunt performers, Stunt co-ordinators and Safety supervisors

- Committee member graded as Safety supervisor (4) [from at least three States]
- Committee member graded as Stunt co-ordinator (4) [from at least three States]
- Committee member graded as Stunt Performers or Assistant Stunt co-ordinators (4) [from at least three States]

New South Wales Branch

- Branch President (Media Section) (1)
- Branch President (Equity Section) (1)
- Branch President (ECS Section) (1)
- Branch President (Musicians Section) (1)
- Branch Vice President (Media Section) (1)
- Branch Vice President (Equity Section) (1)
- Branch Vice President (ECS Section) (1)
- Branch Vice President (Musicians Section) (1)

Victoria Branch

- Branch President (Media Section) (1)
- Branch President (Equity Section) (1)
- Branch President (ECS Section) (1)
- Branch President (Musicians Section) (1)
- Branch Vice President (Media Section) (1)
- Branch Vice President (Equity Section) (1)
- Branch Vice President (ECS Section) (1)

Queensland Branch

- Branch President (Media Section) (1)
- Branch President (Equity Section) (1)
- Branch President (ECS Section) (1)
- Branch President (Musicians Section) (1)
- Branch Vice President (Media Section) (1)
- Branch Vice President (Equity Section) (1)
- Section delegate to Queensland Branch Council (Media section) (9) [at least three must be women]
- Section delegate to Queensland Branch Council (Equity section) (8) [at least two must be women]
- Section delegate to Queensland Branch Council (ECS section) (5) [at least one must be a woman]
- Section delegate to Queensland Branch Council (Musicians section) (2)

South Australia Branch

- Branch President (Media Section) (1)
- Branch President (Equity Section) (1)
- Branch President (ECS Section) (1)
- Branch President (Musicians Section) (1)
- Section delegate to South Australia Branch Council (Media section) (10) [at least three must be women]
- Section delegate to South Australia Branch Council (Equity section) (6) [at least two must be women]
- Section delegate to South Australia Branch Council (ECS section) (6) [at least two must be women]
- Section delegate to South Australia Branch Council (Musicians section) (4) [at least one must be a woman]

Western Australia Branch

- Branch President (Media Section) (1)
- Branch President (Equity Section) (1)
- Branch President (Musicians Section) (1)

Tasmania Branch

- Branch President (1)
- Branch Vice President (3) [at least one must be a woman]

Australian Capital Territory Branch

- Branch President (1)
- Branch Vice President (3) [at least one must be a woman]
- Section delegate to ACT Branch Council (Media Section) (5) [at least two must be women]
- Section delegate to ACT Branch Council (Equity Section) (1)
- Section delegate to ACT Branch Council (ECS Section) (1)

Special Notes:

- 1. A member cannot stand for more than one position that is entitled to membership of Federal Council.
- 2. Where there are three or more positions to be filled in any election (other than those applying to the Professional Sports Section or Professional Sports Branch) one of each three of the positions shall be filled by a woman.
- 3. Where a section is entitled to two or more delegates to Federal Council, they shall be elected according to the following formula:

2 delegates from at least 2 states 7 delegates from at least 3 states 12 delegates from at least 4 states

- 4. Where at least two vice-presidents are to be elected under (c)(1)(vi) from any section or sections, at least one of those two shall be a woman, unless the President from the relevant section is a woman.
- 5. If insufficient eligible candidates nominate to meet the provisions of points (2) and (3) above, then the provisions shall not apply.

Nominations, which must be in writing and comply with the registered rules of the Organisation, may be made at any time from 10:00am Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) 15/11/2023.

Additional forms are available from the Returning Officer.

Prospective candidates and nominators should verify their financial status and any other qualifications required by the Organisation's rules prior to lodging nominations.

Nominations must reach the Returning Officer via the lodgement method(s) stipulated below **not later than** 12:00pm Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) **on** 08/12/2023.

How to lodge nominations, nominations must be lodged via the following method:

By Email: A properly completed nomination form including all necessary signatures and attachments may be scanned and submitted as a pdf file to lEBnominations@aec.gov.au
The subject line of the email should include the reference: <a href="mailto:E2023/5 MEAA - [Branch/State] - [Office] - [your name]

PLEASE NOTE:

- 1. Emails to the AEC inbox that appear to be spam may be blocked. It is the responsibility of senders to ensure that their email reaches the AEC before the deadline for nominations.
- 2. In order to be able to be received by the AEC, emails (including attachments) should be no greater than 6 MB in size.
- 3. You may call 03 9285 7111 to enquire about the status of your nomination.

Withdrawing Nominations

Nominations cannot be withdrawn after 12:00pm Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) on 13/12/2023.

Candidate Statements

Candidates may submit a statement and photograph to be included with ballot material. Only statements which comply with the Rules and are received by the Returning Officer by 12:00pm (Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT)) on 08/12/2023 can be accepted. Statements should be submitted in Word format and are to contain his or her Association and employment/professional history and place of employment to a maximum of 150 words.

Voting Period

The ballot, if required, will open on 22/01/2024 and close at 10:00am Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) on 19/02/2024.

Scrutineers

The appointment of scrutineers opens 10:00am Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) on 15/11/2023 and closes 10:00am Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) on 19/02/2024.

A form is available from the Returning Officer for the purposes of appointing Scrutineers.

Other Information

Changed Address? Advise the Organisation now.

Please Note: A copy of the AEC's election report can be obtained from the Organisation or from the Returning Officer after the completion of the election.

Darren Wade Returning Officer Telephone: 03 9285 7111 Email: IEBevents@aec.gov.au

30/10/2023

